Benefits of Bar Soap

I believe we have been totally brainwashed over the last couple of decades into discarding bar soap and only buying liquid soap and shower gels. I hear it at my stall all the time: “I only use liquid soap!”

We used to use Imperial Leather when I was growing up, and I loved using Pear’s Soap in the bath (love that coal tar scent!), and later Dove, but we gradually switched over to shop’s own brand handwash and Sanex or Simple shower gel in the 90s. (For some reason I seem to remember having Dettol in the bath as a child. Anyone else??) However, since becoming interested in what is actually present in my skincare, I decided to go back to natural bar soaps, rather than the cheap detergent ones. I also switched from having a bath every day to showering, and then only having a bath when I really want to chill out in some steam. I do use shower gel nowadays, especially in my gym bag, but for hand washing I am NATURAL BAR SOAP ALL THE WAY.

We have become paranoid about bacteria and believe that the only thing that will keep us germ-free is liquid soap. TV advertising is great at achieving this aim, with every advert about germ-killing products showing nasty, evil bacteria creatures contrasted with a bright, blindingly white kitchen or bathroom, which looks more like a laboratory. I am still not entirely sure when it comes to meat-handling and hygiene in the kitchen, so I do keep an anti-bacterial liquid soap in there, but if I’ve not handled anything like that, I just use my Kelp or Tea Tree soap to wash my hands – a lot of essential oils are anti-bacterial.

The thing that makes me laugh is that these companies are packaging one product in different bottles, and you buy them all, not realising the shower gel, the bubble bath and the hand wash are all exactly the same thing!

I love bar soap, and that’s why I make them, so here is a list of the Benefits of Bar Soap:

  • Looks SO MUCH nicer by the sink than an ugly plastic bottle
  • Less packaging, therefore better for the environment
  • Takes up less space and lighter to carry
  • Easier to fit into your suitcase and won’t leak
  • No chance of not being able to get any soap out because of a faulty pump
  • Just as hygienic, despite the claims of liquid soap manufacturers
  • All the properties you require can be present (e.g moisturising, exfoliating, anti-bacterial etc)
  • Glycerine soaps like ours and cold processed soaps are not harsh and drying like the mass-produced supermarket detergent soaps
  • Most liquid soaps are full of nasty chemicals and petroleum, where as natural soaps are not
  • The Soap Cabin soaps are locally produced and contain amazing essential oils!

Have I convinced you?…

Leave a Reply

