Eczema

I’ve had eczema all my life, and as most eczema sufferers know, it moves around the body. When I’m stressed and over-tired I get patches on my eyelids (dark glasses!). When I was a teenager, I would get a patch next to my mouth during exam time. When I was in my early twenties, I had a small patch on my stomach, which has never returned. Last year I had a random patch on the middle toe of my left foot, which made wearing shoes rather annoying.

In the winter it always affects the backs of my knees (yes, I’m sitting here now and the backs of my legs are itchy..but let’s pretend they’re not). Sometimes I get patches on my inner arms from getting too hot. I’m currently slathering on Soap Cabin Body Butter, Soothing Skin oil and Soothing Skin balm, depending on the time of day. I’m actually thinking of bringing back the Lavender Butter that we used to make, but perhaps further enriched with other goodies as an eczema butter. I think you want different textures of moisturiser at different times, and Lavender is soooo good for eczema skin.

Soothing Skin Balm

Soothing Skin Balm

If you’re suffering in your skin, here’s a good article from the Huffington Post on how to combat eczema during the cold winter months!

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/julie-kuriakose-md/how-to-treat-eczema-and-winter-itch_b_6608474.html

Leave a Reply

